Wake Me When It’s Over – Cheryl A Head

Wake Me When It's Over - Cheryl HeadCharlie Mack and the gang are back in a second whodunnit. This time set in Detroit at the international car show, the team have a week to find a murderer and foil a terrorist plot. Full of multiple layers of conspiracy, from pipe bombs to industrial spying, Chinese plots and twisted European madmen, this starts with a bang and never lets go.

Fast-paced, complex and intriguing, it will literally keep you glued to your seat as the layers and leaves unfold. Just who are the baddies? Will another twist uncover more traitors inside? Will Charlie and the gang put all the post-it notes together in time?

Cheryl Head’s Charlie Mack Motown Mysteryseries is an excellent read. Extremely well written, the story flows along at a reckless pace without ever feeling forced. The characters are well drawn with foibles and flaws, friendships and mock enmities that make them a real team. The plot is complex; the detail and threads convoluted and elaborate, and while they weave together, fading in and out, at no point do you feel that they wont resolve into a comprehensive whole.

Very well done and highly recommended.

Did you know? If you purchase any of the books reviewed on the LRR from our Amazon shop or Amazon page links we receive a couple of cents per book which will help us support the Lesbian Reading Room GCLS Scholarship Fund.

(publisher review copy received)

Product info:

  • Paperback: 310 pages
  • First published 2018
  • Publisher: Bywater Books (May 22, 2018)
  • ASIN: B079K6SSS3
To buy from Amazon.com – click here.
To buy from Amazon.co.uk – click here.